Saturday, September 13, 2014

Review of Faking It by Lydia Michaels

Faking It
Faking It by Lydia Michaels

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved Faking It! I know that’s not really a shocker as I am completely enamored with the McCullough clan. What was shocking to me was to learn that Kelly wasn’t the most misunderstood McCullough after all. The truths I learned about Sheilagh were so much more surprising to me. Maybe because she’s the only daughter in the McCullough clan, Sheilagh’s presence and story intersects everyone else’s far more pervasively than the other siblings. This actually makes several parts of her story off-limits because of spoiler issues; additionally, her biggest secret is a major spoiler in my opinion. However, I can say that it was amazing to watch her journey as she finds herself, finds happiness in and around her, and finds her other half. Her relationship with Alec was a joy to read and I liked how they both grew from it, despite the age difference. The highs and lows that Sheilagh experienced both saddened and elated me and is a true sign, for me, of just how invested in a character I am. And of course I found Alex as the British professor to be an extra bit of sexy.

I thoroughly enjoyed Faking It and it is an excellent addition to the McCullough Mountain series. I do have one tiny issue with this book – and it’s not really an issue but more of a recommendation. I read this series out of order, starting with book five, Forsaking Truths (Luke’s story). Having done so, I think Sheilagh’s story was that much more meaningful as I was already aware of her issues with Tristan. I’m not sure that I would have felt the same depth of character growth had I not already read about Sheilagh and Tristan. I can only imagine how difficult it can be for a writer to decide when to release which book in a series such as this (especially if they’re having to deal with a less than cooperative muse), but this is one of those rare cases where I am actually recommending that you read book five before reading book four. Although with the McCulloughs you really can’t go wrong in whatever order you read them in. Sadly, this is the last of the books available in the series that I haven’t read and I must now wait for Braydon’s story. Until then, I at least get to revisit the McCullough clan anytime I want. Thank you Ms. Michaels for sharing them with me.

I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
Reviewed by Angela at Crystal's Many Reviewers!

Check out the Faking It by Lydia Michaels blog post on Crystal's Many Reviewers.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment